O…my…gosh…the difference makes me shudder!

My children and I recently found a picture of me shortly before I began my health odyssey into shedding the excess pounds I had put on over the course of my diagnosis. We were all shocked. Quite the eye-opener!!!

As most of my readers will remember, I began my own personal health odyssey back in 2004, determined to regain my health, shed the pounds that were literally killing me, and figure out how to manage my MS. I started with small steps…

before_may2004.jpg


after_sept2006.jpg

BEFORE:
This is a picture of me in May 2004. I needed a cane to walk, and could not complete the MS Walk course. My legs gave me almost constant pain.
AFTER:
This is a picture of me in September 2006. With pounds lost nearing 80, I have not used a cane in over a year. My pain is occasional, rather than daily. Though fatigue remains an issue, pain has become much more manageable. (My constant and loyal companion, Nicky, lies at my feet.)

As you can see by the above pictures, small steps lead to big results! There has been a significant change over the past two years! Has it been easy? No. But neither has it been a grind. While my leg and chest pain is much more manageable and much less frequent, my fatigue continues to be an issue. I am strong-willed and stubborn, and so I make it all work the best way I can, accomodating my body when I must, but pushing myself when I know it is for the best. My lifestyle has changed for the better, with daily exercise having become a mandatory and very welcomed feature in my life. (The exercise endorphins really are addictive, once you set into a new habit!) My eating habits follow more closely to what my body needs, using portion control and avoiding the foods that I know can exascerbate my MS symptoms, or can lead to weight gain for me.

To the date of this writing, I am now within 3-4 pounds of my goal weight. I feel so much better in so many ways, not the least of which is psychologically and emotionally. My ultimate goal was, and continues to be, to ensure I am in the best shape and overall health I can possibly be for the rest of my life, so that I can be around for my children whenever they need me, and be there when they themselves reach their own life milestones. So far, so good!

Carolyne

www.msmeans.ca

