What an amazing start to 2011. I spent the past weekend at my monthly Yoga Teacher Training workshop – a weekend of amazing personal inspiration and self-discovery.

The first day we did a very challenging chest-opening yoga session – read: back-bending. My first reaction was fear – fear that my back injuries would prevent me from participating. Baring your chest and neck is almost a primal fear – opening yourself up to ultimate vulnerability. But with the support of my yoga cohorts, and the influx of positive energy from the group, I jumped in with both feet (albeit somewhat cautiously, modifying the poses to accommodate my injuries as necessary).  What a liberating feeling to challenge oneself to try something one fears!  And I learned something – again – if you think you can, or you can’t, you are usually right!

Later that evening, I found myself with a bad MS symptoms flare-up of burning thigh pain and debilitating fatigue. It turns out that back-bending can stimulate the CNS/Immune system – which can apparently trigger a flare of symptoms! Not fun. A Hot bath didn’t alleviate much, nor did medication – though easy-listening music helped ease my angst. I did not sleep well that night due to discomfort, but by the next morning, I was feeling much better. And in speaking with the class and teacher, I understood why the flare happened. So – out of the negative pain aspects, I found the positive side is that I now understand how another aspect of my body can be affected by my yoga practice, and that the benefits can be well worth the initial pain. My back was freer and more limber than it had been.

Music plays a huge part for me in finding the inner calm and balance I crave. Music can calm you, move you, get you up on your feet – infuse you with joy, tears, emotion. I was intrigued recently by the question: “What is your theme song?” As a person struggling with MS and Seizures and chronic pain, I can think of main songs that apply, depending on my mood. For example, at the end of the day, Johnny Reid’s “Dance with Me” is my go-to – it is so apt for how one feels after a long challenging day. On days where I feel feisty due to various challenges, I am drawn to Pink’s “So What”, with the feisty beat and attitude. But a song that was recently released and hits home consistently for me is Cher’s “You haven’t seen the Last of Me”, from the Burlesque soundtrack.

As many of us with MS know, there are days we just feel like curling up and crawling under a rock to lick our hurts, not sure if or when we can get outta bed. That’s normal – we are dealing with alotta poop, people! But, play a song like this when you are down, crank up the volume – and feel your energy begin to re-fuel and soar! Dance! Spin! Wiggle in your seat! Do whatever it takes to feel the invincibility of who you are! You are NOT your disease!

To listen to the song, click the link below. Crank ‘er up and feel the music in your bones!

Namaste

Carolyne


Cher – You Haven’t Seen The Last Of Me Lyrics

Feeling broken
Barely holding on
But there’s just something so strong
Somewhere inside me
And I am down but I’ll get up again
Don’t count me out just yet

I’ve been brought down to my knees
And I’ve been pushed way past the point of breaking
But I can take it
I’ll be back
Back on my feet
This is far from over
You haven’t seen the last of me
You haven’t seen the last of me

They can say that
I won’t stay around
But I’m gonna stand my ground
You’re not gonna stop me
You don’t know me
You don’t know who I am
Don’t count me out so fast

I’ve been brought down to my knees
And I’ve been pushed way past the point of breaking
But I can take it
I’ll be back
Back on my feet
This is far from over
You haven’t seen the last of me

There will be no fade out
This is not the end
I’m down now
But I’ll be standing tall again
Times are hard but
I was built tough
I’m gonna show you all what I’m made of

I’ve been brought down to my knees
And I’ve been pushed way past the point of breaking
But I can take it
I’ll be back
Back on my feet
This is far from over
I am far from over
You haven’t seen the last of me

No no
I’m not going nowhere
I’m staying right here
Oh no
You won’t see me begging
I’m not taking my bow
Can’t stop me
It’s not the end
You haven’t seen the last of me
Oh no
You haven’t seen the last of me
You haven’t seen the last of me

