I have found that among its other benefits, giving liberates the soul of the giver. ~Maya Angelou

http://rishikajain.com/2011/03/19/a-candle-loses-nothing-by-lighting-another-candle/

One of the greatest feelings one can get is the feeling of selfless giving – knowing you have helped even just one person along their own journey. That feeling is priceless.

Giving – you’d think it is all about others…but really…it’s all about yourself.

This past weekend, two of my own giving initiatives came to an end – that of being a health mentor to university students learning about working with patients re: chronic health care, and a pilot about Yoga for Chronic Illness that I ran during February at a fantastic local studio (All Yoga in Dartmouth, NS).

For my health mentor team – I had been working with them since  the school year started, and it is now wrapping up. I must say that I loved working with them, and they are a fantastic group of people. I learned from them as much as they learned from me. I felt a bittersweet pang as we wrapped up, knowing I’ll likely never see any of them again, but knowing also that I may have made an impact of some sort (no matter how small) in how they work with patients in their future careers.

For my Yoga for Chronic Illness pilot – I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to offer such a pilot, at no cost, to people who could benefit from exposure to yoga. Kim Curlett, owner of All Yoga made that possible – by offering space and time in her studio. Because of her open-ness, a number of people were exposed to the benefits of yoga for managing chronic illness. Personally, I feel that I benefited the most, because I got to share my experiences and hard-won knowledge with the people who attended, and know that I was able to help a number of them along their own healing journeys.

That, to me, is priceless. I feel energized and more at peace, knowing I have helped someone somehow along the way. Does it cure my own MS and seizure disorder? Heck no! But it does give me a sense of purpose regarding my MS and seizure disorder. I can share my own experiences and knowledge in order to help others. It gives me a sense of perceived control over how I manage my health and my life. Priceless.

And after all…it’s all about me, eh?!?! 😉

Since you get more joy out of giving joy to others, you should put a good deal of thought into the happiness that you are able to give. ~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Namaste

Carolyne

