Always concentrate on how far you’ve come, rather than how far you have left to go. ~unknown

Part of coping with a chronic illness, or an on-going stressful situation of any type, is to celebrate your successes often.

I had a mini celebration of my own recently. This past weekend marked the one year anniversary since my last seizure. My last seizure episode was a doozy – back to back full-on tonic-clonic (gran mal) seizures that landed me unaware in the hospital emergency room for over 24 hours. I remember thinking “I am kinda tired – maybe I’ll just lie down for a moment.” That was a Thursday afternoon. My next memory is on the following Friday, “waking up” in the hospital, looking at my darling Mike who was holding my hand, and saying “Hi handsome”…then looking around and thinking “WTF – where am I? And what the heck happened??” So – one year with no grand mals! Ya-Hoo! Can I drive again? Well, no – because my seizure were often spaced by months and we still aren’t 100% sure they can be classified as controlled. The violence of them and the fact that I have no warning is what makes it too dangerous for me to risk getting behind a wheel.

Celebrating our successes is an important tool to help cope with a chronic illness. Whether it is big or small to others is irrelevant. What it means to YOU is what matters most. So celebrate it, whatever it is!! Ya-Hoo!

Life’s challenges are not supposed to paralyze you, they’re supposed to help you discover who you are. ~ Bernice Johnson Reagon

Namaste

Carolyne

