Live or die – but don’t poison everything. ~ SAUL BELLOW

Have you ever been stopped in your tracks by the negativity of someone around you? Blinded by their own negativity, they are prevented from seeing the good around them.  I definitely have been affected by toxic people at times in my life – and it drains you of valuable energy – energy we need to keep healthy and promote our well-being.

Recently I had to spend about an hour or so with someone that I typically avoid because of the negative energy he continuously exudes. I had braced myself for the necessary time – but sure enough, within the space of about 75 minutes he had managed to insult me, a number of my colleagues, and even my mother!! Because I refuse to engage with such people at their level, I simply kept a peaceful smile (my yogic smile) on my face and made no comments to his roiling negativity, as to engage with him, even if only to point out the positives, would be about as useful as banging my head repeated against a brick wall. But the moment I was able to get away from him, I did so.

Even so, I was completely drained of energy and had developed a pounding headache. It just re-enforced to me what I already know: toxic people are toxic for one’s health! It took me a good part of my evening to slough the negativity residue off me…by doing some yoga and watching comedy. And it highlighted once again to me that part of managing one’s health is also managing (where possible) how much, if any, exposure you allow yourself to people of a toxic and negative nature.

The best way of removing negativity is to laugh and be joyous. ~ David Icke

So – laugh. Enjoy the sun. See the positive around you – really see it. And walk away from chronically toxic people whenever possible. It’s called self-preservation!!

Namaste

Carolyne

