“Success is not measured by what you accomplish, but by the opposition you have encountered, and the courage with which you have maintained the struggle against overwhelming odds.” ~ Orison Swett Marden

image source: www.yolevski.com
image source: http://www.yolevski.com

Roughly five years ago,  I had a seizure while driving and totalled my car. (Luckily only myself and my dog were hurt! See my seizure story at https://msmeans.wordpress.com/ms-seizures/ ) I was told by doctors that I would likely never drive again due to the development of uncontrolled tonic-clonic (grand mal) seizures. While considered a rarity in MS patients, seizures ARE a possibility and even a reality for many of us. Fast forward to the present – and now, as of the July 2013,  I am able to drive again! (Though I do have some medical restrictions that I must follow.) Through the miracle of medication and persistence at finding a balance in managing my health – I can safely get behind the wheel of a car.

FREEDOM!!!!

As any of my followers know, I don’t like being told that I cannot do something. I don’t like being labeled or hemmed into any perceived “box”. And I certainly don’t like feeling trapped in any way by my own body. And not being allowed to drive for almost 5 years certainly made me feel trapped in many ways!

But – as they say “Never say never!”

Even if I don’t drive much at all in the future, just knowing that I can drive gives me so much joy, I cannot even find the words to express it. I feel all grow’d-up an’ everything!!!

Action is the foundational key to all success. ~ Pablo Picasso.

namaste

Carolyne

