“January 1st is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.”
― Brad Paisley

Image Source: http://www.hdwallpapersinn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/New_Year_wallpapers_Wishes_for_the_New_Year_2014_047680_.jpg
Image Source: http://www.hdwallpapersinn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/New_Year_wallpapers_Wishes_for_the_New_Year_2014_047680_.jpg

Well, another new year is upon us. Wow – 2014…already?? How time flies… Time for a new 365 page “Book of 2014”, as Brad says.

I have always felt that this time of year is a good time to reflect, re-assess, and renew. It can take the shape of re-organizing a closet or a cupboard, to renewing a commitment, to re-assessing a goal or two.

I have to say that 2013 has not been my favorite year – but I plan to make 2014 a better one! You see, 2013 had me bouncing around a bit too much in terms of medication side effects, changes in my health, and menopausal symptoms and MS symptom flares and … well, you get the picture. Confusion was the Word of the Year for 2013 for me. (Though hindsight is as clear as a bell!) And I spent much of 2013 crying all the time – for no reason! I just would cry for no understandable reason…which turned out to be medication and symptoms side effects.  Between my seizure meds causing serious anxiety symptom side effects for months, and menopause bringing me a new meaning to the phrase “hot and sweaty” (dripping…OMG), I have found the process of aging gracefully to be a bit of a challenge in 2013. (I mean, c’mon, Mother Nature: whiskers, acne, return of bad cramps, and sleep deprivation? Seriously? Erg.) So 2013 was a very soggy year for me.

So I decided to look as what needs re-jigging for 2014.

One of my top personal goals for 2014 continues to be competing in Synchronized swimming by my 50th birthday. Since I am currently swimming with a team, this one is working well so far. Keeping up with a group of 20-somethings is tough, but I am doing it. It is not so much the physical part as the mental parts that are the biggest challenge. Remembering counts of music and how the routine’s choreography goes can be more challenging some days, and less so others…depends on my MS cog fog levels! But, so far, so good – MS brain farts and all!

Another of my top 2014 goals is to help people more…by blogging, by volunteering, by talking, by sharing and raising awareness of MS symptoms like seizures, and of living a full life no matter what. I currently guest blog at MSRelief.com, and I volunteer my time with the local university Health mentoring program, as well as other volunteering for the MS society and other local health societies. Where ese can I help?

And over all of this – my priority goal is to manage my health well and maintain a quality life balance for myself and my family while I fulfill my personal goals. But as you know by now, I am not one to go slow or go small, eh?

My wish for you all, as you write your own 365 page Book of 2014 is for a great quality of life, good health, and personal balance.

If I shoot at the sun, I may hit a star. —P. T. Barnum

namaste.

Carolyne

