This post seems to be a popular one…and with the Exercise topic, it seems very relevant! I thought it would be a good idea to re-visit this topic. But….Happy summer!

MS Means...Living and Laughing with Multiple Sclerosis

No one saves us butourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.” ~ Buddha

Image Source: http://inthespaceofreasons.blogspot.ca/2012/05/however-but-however.html

Have you ever noticed how the word “but” can can change the meaning and context of communication and self-talk in subtle but distinct ways?

“I’m sorry – but it’s not really my fault!” – redirecting accountability

“I know this isn’t good for me – but it’s just this once.” – rationalizing

But’ can be a powerful word for such a small one. Often, using ‘but’ contradicts  or rationalizes the intent and context the speaker. However it also can affect the expectations of the listener.

I was on my yoga mat the other day thinking about this, after my lovely teacher Kim (ALL Yoga) spent some one-on-one time with me to bring me back to the simple joy of yoga – all…

View original post 248 more words

