christmas-bobbles

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.” ― T.S. Eliot

Well…it has been a while since I last wrote, eh?

Life has just been running at full steam ahead this past year, with many changes. Some of these changes were chosen, some were not! I have fulfilled bucket list challenges, dealt with multiple accidents and the repercussions of said accidents, and have seen the beginning of some new journeys in myself and in family and friends.

As I started the new year, I was training hard with a local synchronized swim team to meet my goal of competing by the time I turned 50 years of age. Well, 2 days after I turned 50 in April, I was indeed competing in a team synchro provincials events. Bucket list item – check!

At that same event however, I was kicked in the head during the first routine…and did not realize that I had sustained a pretty significant concussion. That concussion kept me from any further competition – and actually kept me away from work and everything else for about 2 months as I tried to recover and stayed in a dark room away from all forms of media and reading. (Very tough for an admitted A-type super-achiever who hates being immobilized!)

Over the summer I was given a wonderful opportunity to work in a new division at work. As a result I began working remotely for this new divisions, and will be moving to Ottawa in the  new year. Autumn 2014 saw me striving hard to find my new balance as I settled into a new role, with a new workload, new team members, and new …  well, everything! It also saw me trying to recover from a car accident in which Hubby and I were rear-ended…and I ended up with whiplash and another concussion – and MS flare ups as a result. (Seriously?? Yep… I seem to be a very accident-prone person, eh?)

I also began swimming again in September with a new synchro team and some old friends..bringing back the joy of synchro into my life.

On the family front…wow, so much more change again. Two of our 4 kids moved out west. The oldest is expecting her first chid with her fiance, and Hubby and I will be grandparents early in the new year. (Holy smokes – already?!?!) The second one works in Alberta. Two of our kids remained in Halifax to finish university degrees. The youngest moved out to live with his father while in school. The oldest lives with us…but will soon be moving into his own apartment as he approaches graduation. Where did the time go??

This past year was an eventful one… but all the events and changes and activity point to a new era for Hubby and I.

For the first time, hubby and I are left to our own devices for the bulk of the Holiday season. With family all over North America for the holidays, Hubby and I have decided to create our own Holiday pace this year…and are enjoying just being together with none of the usual holiday pressures that often come up when trying to coordinate time across many family members.

As we head into 2015, we are doing so with open minds,  and an approach to change that recognizes that there will be both joy and trepidation as we head into a completely new era in our lives: the Empty-Nest Era.

IMAGE SOURCE: http://www.rebellesociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/empty-nest.jpg
IMAGE SOURCE: http://www.rebellesociety.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/empty-nest.jpg

So what do I know for sure as we head into this new Era? Well, I know that I am grateful for many things. Some of the things I am grateful for are:

  • for a husband and soulmate that I absolutely adore, and who loves me as I am, and supports me always and unconditionally;
  • for my adult children, who “get me”, bring me joy daily, and make me laugh everyday – with their goofy antics and really bad puns and jokes;
  • for family that may be far away but is always “there”;
  • for friends that can always make me laugh until I cry (Or snort water through my nose – whichever comes first);
  • for my synchro team Breathless Divas ladies, who are the raunchiest and most fun group of women I could ever hope to meet (no matter how bad a day I have, swimming with you always makes me happy and takes the pain away);
  • for work that keeps me busy and completely immersed in a goal I can believe in (even if at times things can be challenging);
  • for the ability to deal with constant change and manage my MS and overall heath in the way I need to in order to keep cognitively and physically mobile and active;
  • for my continued happiness, joy, mobility and absence of seizures;
  • for my body and my growing ability to actually listen to what it needs!!

I will head into a New Era in 2015 with new tools in my pack, from all the experiences that I have had to date. (Not the least of which is how to recover from concussions and back injuries…and how to read my body and understand its needs so that I can address them properly.) The year 2015 brings me settling more into my new job, a move to a new city, and new life circumstances with an empty nest. I am excited and scared and proud and terrified and happy and nervous and… well, you get it. (Happy tears… ya, that’s it.)

“A child enters your home and for the next twenty years makes so much noise you can hardly stand it. The child departs, leaving the house so silent you think you are going mad.” ~ John Andrew Holmes

My children will also be embarking into their own new Eras… new roads on their own journeys that I can only watch “from afar” and only offer advice and support where I can when they need it and where it is wanted. ( Often, the most important part of every one’s personal journey is the struggles they learn to overcome…)

“The most important thing that parents can teach their children is how to get along without them.” ~ Frank A. Clark

I don’t know what 2015 will look like in the end…but I am up for the ride!

Happy Holiday Season to all!

Namaste

Carolyne

