Change, Change, Change….. Rolling into a new era

“Those who improve with age embrace the power of personal growth and personal achievement and begin to replace youth with wisdom, innocence with understanding, and lack of purpose with self-actualization.” ~ Bo Bennett

IMG_0320

Time has flown by, hasn’t it? Last I connected with you all, things were rocking and rolling very quickly for myself and my family.

Over the summer, my hubby and I moved from Halifax Nova Scotia to Ottawa Ontario. My life changed in so many ways – from family dynamics through to working conditions and medical management. It is a positive change; a life-altering change; a scary change; a thrilling change; a sad change; and a fantastic change.

Back in June, I swam my last team swim with my favorite ladies in the world – by “NothingBeatsBurlesque HANSynchro ladies. These ladies supported me through many an MS flare-ups over the synchro swim season with constant humour, absolute hilarity, warmth, and love. I miss them terribly.

IMG_0357

These ladies are as goofy as I am, and we made laughter a regular part of our practices together. We laughed together both in and out of the pool. They are people I will consider friends for a lifetime.

Our final routine together was fantastic…we rocked it (from our perspective, anyway)!

I also had the very great honour and pleasure to be voted as the team’s MVP – though I know it was a hard won battle!

I miss these wonderful ladies more than I can properly express. But – change is a journey through transition, isn’t it?

A lot of people resist transition and therefore never allow themselves to enjoy who they are. Embrace the change, no matter what it is; once you do, you can learn about the new world you’re in and take advantage of it. ~ Nikki Giovanni

So, I am now embarking on a new adventure, in a new city. I am loving every minute of it so far. I will be developing new relationships with doctors, colleagues, medical and health staff, and re-establishing myself as an advocate for MS, health, and change management.

IMG_0358

And, I will be meeting a whole new set of women as I embark on yet another year of synchronized swimming and raising awareness for MS, seizures, and chronic illness in general. Time for a website revamp too!!!

Wish me luck, and stay tuned!

Namaste

Carolyne

 

Times of transition are strenuous, but I love them. They are an opportunity to purge, rethink priorities, and be intentional about new habits. We can make our new normal any way we want. ~ Kristin Armstrong

 

2 thoughts on “Change, Change, Change….. Rolling into a new era

Your Comments or Thoughts?

