“Nothing is softer or more flexible than water, yet nothing can resist it.” ~ Lao Tzu

Carolyne coming up from the depths!
Carolyne coming up from the depths!

Water. H2O. Is there anything more beautiful and potentially terrifying at the same time?? The power of water (as can be seen in the floods we have seen here in Canada this year) is awe-inspiring. It can bring peace. It can destroy. It is a basic necessity of life.

In the summer, people often head to swimming pools, lakes, ocean beaches, rivers, kiddy pools, sprinklers…anything to be in or near water. We do this primarily to stay cool and get away from heat – MS or no MS. With excess heat, often comes irritability and  health distress of some form. With excess heat, those of us with MS often see flare ups of symptoms and severely increased fatigue levels – none of which is good.

Thank goodness for my ability to get in the water and swim, and feel comfortable, and feel cool. Whether I am upside down spinning in some wild synchronized swimming figure, or swimming flat out, or just floating…I am comfortably at peace with my environment.

In the water is the only place I feel no pain. When I am in the water, I feel like I am home.

When I say I feel no pain, I mean that gravity is no longer a factor in my pain. The movement in the water also helps take away the deep burning pain I chronically deal with in my legs.  Daily movement is what helps keep that pain manageable – but swimming helps give me a nearly complete break from it. (That is an emotional and mental bonus, in my books.) But in order to gain that benefit of feeling pain-free, I do have to push myself to feel the “pain” of hard exercise. I have to push my body to gain good cardio benefits and strength – and  that comes with the pain of the exertion, as in “No pain, no gain”.

I have been swimming again with my local Masters swim team…and marveling at the effects it has on me. While Synchro develops strength, grace, agility, and breath control, swim team develops more on the cardio and endurance levels. Gasp!!! The two combined, along with yoga, keep me physically balanced and increase my ability to manage pain. But I still sometimes overdo it – and I learn from it each time.

When one has MS, they have to learn to find the balance between “just enough” and “too much”, or risk the backlash of MS symptoms. I usually only know when I have pushed too much after the fact – such as when I end up deeply exhausted, in terrible burning pain,  and foggy brained for 2 days after a particularly hard training session. (That’s when gentle yoga and resting meditation is really critical!) Hindsight is always 20-20 though, eh? Finding that sweet spot between “just enough” and “too much” takes work – and often with MS, finding that sweet spot is never ending, because MS symtoms can flare and change so unpredictably. Do it anyway!

